Ben Webster

The Complete 1960 Jazz Cellar Session (4569895)

The Complete 1960 Jazz Cellar Session View larger


The Complete 1960 Jazz Cellar Session

Ben Webster

Solar Records


SOL 125263




The Complete 1960 Jazz Cellar Session

More details

CD 8,22 €

This release contains the superb November 1960 session recorded by the Ben Webster - Johnny Hodges sextet in studio conditions at the Jazz cellar, in San Francisco (without an audience). It is presented here in its complete form on a single CD for the first time ever. The two great saxophonists were the only horn players heard at the session. They were backed by a rhythm section of piano, guitar, bass and drums. These recordings are exceptional in that no other date exists in their collaborative discography featuring them as the only horns. A complete (and very rare) octet session featuring Webster and Hodges has been added as a bonus.


  • BEN WEBSTER, tenor sax
  • JOHNNY HODGES, alto sax
  • LOU LEVY, piano
  • HERB ELLIS, guitar
  • GUS JOHNSON, drums

The Jazz Cellar, San Francisco, November 22, 1960.

  • BONUS TRACKS [13-17]: Ben Webster (ts), Johnny Hodges (as), Ray Nance (tp), Lawrence Brown (tb), Emil Richards (vib), Russ Freeman (p), Joe Mondragon (b), Mel Lewis (d), Jimmy Hamilton (arr). Los Angeles, January 31, 1961.


  • 01. Ben’s Web
  • 02. Side Door (Don’t Kid Yourself)
  • 03. Blues’ll Blow Your Fuse
  • 04. I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
  • 05. Dual Highway
  • 06. Big Ears
  • 07. Shorty Gull
  • 08. Ifida
  • 09. I’d Be There
  • 10. I’d Be There
  • 11. Just Another Day
  • 12. Lollalagin Now
  • 13. Exactly Like You
  • 14. I’m Beginning To See The Light
  • 15. Val’s Lament
  • 16. Tipsy Joe
  • 17. Waiting For The Champagne
  • TOTAL TIME : 78:18 Min: