A Kiss in the Dark (CD 366)

A Kiss in the Dark View larger

A Kiss in the Dark



CHE 144780

CD 366



A Kiss in the Dark

More details

This product is no longer in stock

CD 12,39 €


ALEXIS COLE, vocalas
DAN BLOCK, sax, clarinet
SAUL RUBIN, guitar

Recorded December 19, 2013 at the Hirsch Center in Brooklyn, New York.


01. Ain't We Got Fun
02. Whip-poor-will
03. Do You Ever Think Of Me
04. Limehouse Blues
05. Chicago, that Toddlin' Town
06. Bimini Bay
07. Nobody Knows You When You are Down and Out
08. After You've Gone
09. There's a Broken for Every Light on Broadway
10. A Kiss in the Dark
11. Indian Summer
12. Turn Back the Universe and Give Me Yesterday
13. Let the Rest of the World Go By
14. Till We Meet Again

The darkly alluring, deep ­toned voice that embraces these timeless melodies from the parlor song era and Tin Pan Alley days (roughly 1910 to the early 1920s) belongs to the wonderful Alexis Cole. Called “one of the great voices of today”, Alexis has been compared to classic jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan and Anita O’Day. Cole is the recipient of a Swing Journal Gold Disc award, and has won the NY Jazzmobile and Montreux Jazz Festival vocal competitions. This time out, she goes further back in time with her quartet of guitarist Saul Rubin, saxophonist­/clarinetist Dan Block, bassist Pat O’Leary and drummer Phil Stewart to a more genteel time when sheet music was the most common method of dissemination of popular tunes. With her relaxed style, clear articulation, unhurried, conversational approach and all­knowing sense of cool, Cole and her crew strike a swinging accord on nuggets like “Ain’t We Got Fun,” “Bimini Bay,” “Whip­poor­will,” the buoyantly swinging title track and ten other tunes from yesteryear in this engaging retro revue. Everything goes down nice ‘n’ easy on this luxurious outing, and Alexis delivers with timeless charm from track to track.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band and singer appear right before you with this spacious, lush and multi­dimensional recording. You will hear some of the most natural and pure vocals ever recorded of a jazz singer.