Tony Bennett

Complete Recordings (EJC 55554)

Complete Recordings View larger


Complete Recordings

Tony Bennett

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 130423

EJC 55554



Complete Recordings

More details

CD 8,26 €


This edition presents allll existing recordings by Tony Bennett backed by the Count Basie band, complete for the first time on a single CD. Their collaborations consist of two albums: In Person - Tony Bennett / Count Basie and His Orchestra (Columbia CS8104) and Basie / Bennett - Count Basie and His Orchestra Swings / Tony Bennett Sings (Roulette SR27072). Despite the title of the first LP, these are all studio recordings. Basie never recorded most of the tunes from these albums again. As a bonus, two of the few existing instrumental versions by the Basie orchestra of the tunes he recorded with Bennett.


TONY BENNETT vocals - COUNT BASIE and His Orchestra

[1-12]: IN PERSON !

Thad Jones, Wendell Culley, Snooky Young, Joe Newman (tp),
Henry Coker, Benny Powell, Al Grey (tb), Marshall Royal (as, cl),
Frank Wess (as, ts, fl), Billy Mitchell, Frank Foster (ts)
Charlie Fowlkes (bar), Ralph Sharon (p, arr), Freddie Green (g),
Eddie Jones (b), Sonny Payne (d), Candido Camero (cga on 5 & 12 only),
Count Basie (cond).
New York, December 22 & 30, 1958.


Same personnel as above except Candido Camero out;
Count Basie (p on 13 & 15 only);
Ralph Sharon ( arr; p on all other tracks ).
New York, January 3 & 5, 1959.

[25-26] BONUS TRACKS: Count Basie and His Orchestra

[25] New York, April 28, 1958. [26] New York, October 22, 1957.


01 Just In Time
02 When I Fall In Love
03 Taking A Chance On Love
04 Without A Song
05 Fascinatin’ Rhythm
06 Solitude
07 Pennies From Heaven
08 Lost In The Stars
09 Firefly
10 There Will Never Be Another You
11 Lullaby Of Broadway
12 Ol’ Man River
13 Life Is A Song
14 With Plenty Of Money And You
15 Jeepers Creepers
16 Are You Havin’ Any Fun?
17 Anything Goes
18 Strike Up The Band
19 Chicago
20 I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
21 Poor Little Rich Girl
22 Growing Pains
23 I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plans
24 After Supper
25 Ol’ Man River [instrumental]*
26 After Supper [instrumental] *

Total Time: 74:15