Bobo Stenson

Indicum (ECM 2233)

Indicum View larger


Bobo Stenson



ECM 133356

ECM 2233



CD 14,04 €

Four years after “Cantando”, a new album from the Bobo Stenson Trio – recorded in Lugano last December – explores a broad arc of material. Here we find: free playing (the trio has its own, fresh approach to collective improvising), tunes by Bill Evans (“Your Story”, offered here as a tribute to Paul Motian, for whom this tune was a favourite) and by George Russell (“Event VI” from “Living Time”, another piece associated with Evans), Danish composer Carl Nielsen’s “Oft Am I Glad”, a Norwegian hymn (in an arrangement by Anders Jormin and folk singer Sinikka Langeland), contemporary composition by Norway’s Ola Gjeilo, a Wolf Biermann protest song, Argentine composer Ariel Ramírez’s folkloric “La Peregrinación”, and more. Wide-ranging repertoire has become a hallmark of Bobo Stenson recordings. But it’s not just the eclecticism that is striking: Bobo Stenson, Anders Jormin and Jon Fält take their far-flung sources and make of them an organic music that sings with its own voice.


ANDER JORMIN, double-bass
JON FÄIT, drums

Recorded November 30-December 2, 2011 at Auditorio Radiotelevisione svizzera, Lugano


01 Your Story
02 Indikon
03 Indicum
04 Ermutigung
05 Indigo
06 December
07 La Peregrinacion
08 Event VI
09 Ave Maria
10 Tit er jeg glad
11 Sol
12 Ubi Caritas