Cyrus Chestnut

The Cyrus Chestnut Quartet with Stacy Dillard (WJ31010)

The Cyrus Chestnut Quartet with Stacy Dillard View larger


The Cyrus Chestnut Quartet with Stacy Dillard

Cyrus Chestnut

WJ3 Records


DRJ 134534




The Cyrus Chestnut Quartet with Stacy Dillard

More details

CD 12,39 €

His brand of crisp articulation and bluesinflected harmony evokes another era... multifaceted and dynamic...Mr. Chestnut was the evening’s star and he brought charisma to the role...” - The New York Times

What makes Chestnut the best jazz pianist of his generation is a willingness to abandon notes and play space.” - Time Magazine

Cyrus Chestnut, one of the world’s most celebrated jazz pianists, unveils new original compositions on Cyrus Chestnut Quartet, on WJ3 Records. This is the first time for Chestnut, who’s released over a dozen albums since his recording debut in 1992, to lead his own quartet on CD. Produced by Todd Barkan (Kenny Burrell’s Be Yourself Live at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, Freddie Hubbard’s Above & Beyond), Cyrus Chestnut Quartet features Stacy Dillard on sax, Dezron Douglas on bass and Willie Jones III on drums. The collection is comprised of seven new original straight-ahead swinging tunes by Chestnut and “What’s Happening” by Douglas.


  • Cyrus Chestnut - piano
  • Stacy Dillard - tenor & soprano sax
  • Dezron Douglas - bass
  • Willie Jones III - drums

Recorded December 14, 2010, NY, USA


  • 01. No Problem
  • 02. Annibelle Cousins
  • 03. Dream
  • 04. What’s Happening – by Dezron Douglas
  • 05. Waltz For Gene and Carol
  • 06. Solace
  • 07. Indigo Blue
  • 08. Mustard