John Zorn

Astaroth - Book of Angels - Vol. 1 (TZ 7348)

Astaroth - Book of Angels - Vol. 1 View larger


Astaroth - Book of Angels - Vol. 1

John Zorn



TZA 113674

TZ 7348



Astaroth: Book of Angels Vol 1

More details

CD 14,03 €


In the final months of 2004, John Zorn wrote over 300 new tunes for his popular Masada project, and he now initiates a new series of recordings featuring the best players out of the burgeoning Masada family in dynamic units performing compositions from Masada Book Two—The Book of Angels.

This first volume features Jamie Saft in an acoustic piano trio reminiscent of the best in the genre. Bill Evans, Paul Bley, Herbie Hancock, Vince Guaraldi and even the Bagels and Bongos of Catskills pianist Irving Fields become touchstones for this remarkably interactive group that includes Greg Cohen (Masada, Ornette Coleman) on bass and Ben Perowsky (Uri Caine, John Scofield) on drums.

Playing with the fire and passion one has come to expect from the Masada family, this soulful and imaginative trio sets new standards for versatility and excellence in the piano trio format. This group is pure magic and they have created one of the most exciting and enjoyable CDs in the Tzadik catalog. Absolutely breathtaking.


  • Greg Cohen - (bass)
  • Ben Perowsky - (drums)
  • Jamie Saft - (piano)


  • 01. Shalmiel
  • 02. Ygal
  • 03. Astaroth
  • 04. Ezeqeel
  • 05. Ariel
  • 06. Sturiel
  • 07. Baal-Peor
  • 08. Pursan
  • 09. Lela’hel
  • 10. Beleth