Doug Carn

Revelation (BJ/16)

Revelation View larger


Doug Carn

Black Jazz


LPS 115745





More details

This product is no longer in stock

LP 16,51 €

The Black Jazz recordings of Doug Carn are always a revelation – some of the most powerful, progressive work on the American underground of the early 70s – music that got Carn into way more record collections than you might expect! The sound here is a perfect summation of Doug's early genius – his own work on organ and keyboards, never overdone and mixed perfectly with a righteous array of acoustic sounds from Rene McLean on alto and tenor and Olu Dara on trumpet – both players who soar to the skies on waves of energy begun by Carn! Wife Jean Carn sings on a number of tracks – with this heavenly style that's mighty righteous – every bit as soulful as her later work at Philly International, but in a very different way. The set includes Doug's great reading of "Naima" – plus other wonderful cuts that include "Power & Glory", "Feel Free", "Jihad", "Fatherhood", and "God is One".


  • Rene McClean - alto & tenor sax, flute, vocals
  • Olu Dara- trumpet, alto horn, vocals
  • Earl McIntyre - bass trumpet
  • Nathan Page - guitar
  • Doug Carn - piano, organ synthesizer, vocals
  • Walter Booker - bass
  • Ira Williams - drums


  • SIDE A
  • A1. God Is One
  • A2. Power And Glory
  • A3. Revelation
  • A4. Naima
  • A5. Fatherhood
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Contemplation
  • B2. Feel Free
  • B3. Time Is Running Out
  • B4. Jihad