Bunny Berigan

Bunny+Bunny Berigan and His Boys (COL-CD-7847)

Bunny+Bunny Berigan and His Boys View larger

Bunny+Bunny Berigan and His Boys

Bunny Berigan



CJC 123624




Bunny+Bunny Berigan and His Boys

More details

CD 12,39 €

This set from Collectables Records combines the LPs "Bunny", originally released in 1959 on Camden Records, and "Bunny Berigan and His Boys", originally released in 1960 by Epic Records, on one disc. Both of the LPs were drawn from mono 78s Berigan cut in the '30s, so the sound reflects the source and there is a fair amount of needle wear and noise on a few of the tracks. That said, this reissue works fairly well as an introduction to Berigan's work as a bandleader, although there is obviously a whole lot more to the story. As if to make his best-known piece, "I Can't Get Started," particularly ironic, Bunny Berigan's heavy drinking and fast-paced lifestyle cut his life short in 1942 when he was only 33 years old, and all told, the swing trumpeter's recorded legacy doesn't even span a decade. Still, his incredible range on the instrument and his always beautiful tone have given him a deserved spot as one of the greatest trumpet players in the history of jazz. A small part of that legacy is here. ~ Steve Leggett


01. A Study In Brown
02. Azure
03. 'Deed I Do
04. There'll Be Some Changes Made
05. Sophisticated Swing
06. Little Gate's Special
07. Jazz Me Blues
08. I Dance Alone (From "Who's Who")
09. High Society
10. Carelessly
11. Russian Lullaby
12. Sobbin' Blues
13. I Can't Get Started
14. Solo Hop
15. Dixieland Shuffle
16. Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
17. It's Been So Long
18. I'd Rather Lead A Band
19. Let Yourself Go
20. A Melody From The Sky
21. Rhythm Saved The World
22. But Definitely
23. I Nearly Let Love Go Slipping Through My Fingers
24. If I Had My Way

Recorded in New York, between 1936 & 1397