Paul Motian

Time and Time Again (ECM 1992)

Time and Time Again View larger


Time and Time Again

Paul Motian



ECM 116099

ECM 1992



Time and Time Again

More details

Currently unavailable

CD 14,03 €

Drummer Motian’s long-running trio with Joe Lovano and Bill Frisell is a serendipitous assemblage of complementary personalities. Motian and guitarist Frisell are ingenious colorists: Frisell, a thoughtful melodist whose every note is wrought with expression; Motian, a laconic yet deceptively agile weaver of rhythmic filigree. Saxophonist Lovano is no less concerned with detail, as you hear it in the ever-varying way he inflects his notes and shapes his improvised lines. All three men are preternaturally responsive, each capable of taking the others’ original ideas and making them better.


  • PAUL MOTIAN, drums
  • JOE LOVANO, tenor sax
  • BILL FRISELL, guitar


  • 01. Cambodia
  • 02. Wednesday
  • 03. Onetwo
  • 04. Whirlpool
  • 05. In Remembrance Of Things Past
  • 06. K.T.
  • 07. This Nearly Was Mine
  • 08. Party Line
  • 09. Light Blue
  • 10. Time And Time Again