Round Midnight (FSRCD 497)

Round Midnight View larger

Round Midnight

Fresh Sound Records


ABS 117622




Round Midnight

More details

This product is no longer in stock

CD 9,88 €

Featuring: Hazel Scott (piano solos with rhythm accompaniment), Everett Barksdale (g), Sandy Block (b), Jimmy Crawford (d).

Though Hazel Scott (1920-1981) earned a great deal of her fame for swinging the classics from a red hot keyboard, her talents extended far beyond the realm of crass showmanship and she reached the other extreme, that of warm, delicate and intimate jazz playing. This album presents this lesser known side of Miss Scott’s musical personality, and the resulting music creates a mood which is relaxing and richly romantic, particularly suited for ‘round midnight.
Track list:

01. ‘Round Midnight 3:12
02. Just Imagine 3:19
03. It’s You Or No One 2:44
04. It’s Easy To Remember 3:04
05. Lucky To Be Me 2:36
06. Maybe 3:10
07. I Wish I Didn’t Love You So 3:23
08. (In The) Wee Small Hours (Of The Morning) 3:24
09. Warm All Over 3:25
10. Love Is The Thing 3:06
11. Ev’ry Time 3:06
12. For You, For Me, Forevermore 3:06

Recorded in New York City (1956-1957)