Erenstine Anderson

Hot Cargo: Complete 1956 Swedish Sessions (FSRCD 482)

Hot Cargo: Complete 1956 Swedish Sessions View larger


Hot Cargo: Complete 1956 Swedish Sessions

Erenstine Anderson

Fresh Sound Records


ZZZ 117624




Hot Cargo: Complete 1956 Swedish Sessions

More details

CD 9,07 €

Featuring: Rolf Ericsson (tp), Cecil Payne (bars), Duke Jordan (p), John Simmons (b), Art Taylor (d), Harry Arnold and His Orchestra plus 9-piece string section.

Although Ernestine Anderson had toured with moderate success in the bands of Russell Jacquet, Johnny Otis, and Lionel Hampton, and had been heard very briefly on a Gigi Gryce LP, she was more or less an unknown in the States until, in the spring of 1956, the Swedish trumpeter Rolf Ericson asked her to join a combo he was taking over to tour Scandinavia. With them were Cecil Payne, Duke Jordan, John Simmons, and Art Taylor. Ernestine’s debut was a musical landmark. She was an overnight sensation, and soon she recorded a 7" EP accompanied by Duke Jordan’s trio. When the tour was over she decided to stay three more months, making several recordings, in which arranger and conductor Harry Arnold used a great variety of backgrounds that deftly enhance Ernestine’s fascinating voice. Ernestine presents "Love for Sale," "Ill Wind," "My Man," and other evergreens in a torchy repertoire never before treated so knowingly. Full and expressive, her voice is an instrument that creates truly inspirational music.

Personnel: Rolf Ericsson (tp); Cecil Payne (bars); Duke Jordan, Ulf Wesslen, Thore Swanerud (p); John Simmons, George Riedel (b); Art Taylor, Egil Johansen (d). Harry Arnold and His Orchestra: Sixteen Eriksson, Weine Renliden, Bengt-Arne Wallin, Benny Bailey (tp); Arne Domnerus (cl, as); Ake Persson, Georg Vernon, Andreas Skjold, Goran Ohlsson (tb); Arne Domnerus Rolf Lindell (as); Carl-Henrik Norin, Bjarne Nerem, Rolf Blomquist (ts); Lennart Jansson (cl, bars); Rolf Larsson, Thore Swanerud (p); Bengt Hogberg (g); Georg Riedel (b); Egil Johansen (d); plus 9-piece string section.

Track list:

01. Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart 3:22
02. Mad About The Boy 3:22
03. Did I Remember? 3:11
04. Day Dream 3:13
05. Our Love Is Here To Stay 3:13
06. Experiment 3:23
07. That Old Feeling 2:24
08. The Song Is Ended 2:45
09. Supper Time 2:45
10. Love For Sale 2:10
11. Autumn In New York 3:24
12. You Go To My Head 3:24
13. My Man 2:38
14. Looking For A Boy 2:38
15. Ill Wind 3:06
16. Little Girl Blue 3:15
17. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams 2:58

Recorded in Sundsvall, Stockholm, 1956