Andy Sheppard

Movements in Colour (ECM 2062)

Movements in Colour View larger


Movements in Colour

Andy Sheppard



ECM 121040

ECM 2062



Movements in Colour

More details

CD 13,18 €

Andy Sheppard soprano and tenor saxophones
John Parricelli acoustic and electric guitars
Eivind Aarset guitar, electronics
Arild Andersen double-bass, electronics
Kuljit Bhamra tabla, percussion

La Tristesse Du Roi
Nave Nave Moe
May Song
We Shall Not Go To Market Today
International Blue

Recorded Feburary 2008

Although Andy Sheppard has been featured on a dozen albums with Carla Bley for WATT, this is his first album for ECM proper. The British saxophonist heads an international quintet in a programme of self-penned pieces, all buoyant and strongly melodic. Sheppard’s elegant saxophone and the strongly-contrasting guitars of Parricelli and Aarset are lifted up by the rhythmic drive of Arild Andersen’s muscular bass and the crisp, dynamic tabla of Kuljit Bhamra, a musician well known in the UK as a key figure in the Asian pop and bhangra movements.