Tony Bennett

Sings for 2 + Sings String of Harold Arlen (4569939)

Sings for 2 + Sings String of Harold Arlen View larger

Sings for 2 + Sings String of Harold Arlen

Tony Bennett

Solar Records


SOL 139114




Sings for 2 + Sings String of Harold Arlen

More details

CD 10,74 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD


This release contains two complete original albums by the great Tony Bennett: Tony Sings for Two (Columbia CS8242), which consists of a series of duets with pianist Ralph Sharon, and Tony Bennett Sings a String of Harold Arlen (Columbia CS8359), on which he sings Arlen’s songbook accompanied by an orchestra arranged by Glenn Osser. A song from the former Sings for Two session which was first issued on a compilation album has been added here as a bonus. The two LPs only previously appeared on CD more than a decade ago and have since been long out of print.


TONY BENNETT, vocals on all tracks, plus:

[1-13]: Tony Sings For Two
RALPH SHARON, piano & arrangements
Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York, October 28, 1959.

Original session produced by Mitch Miller.

[14-25]: Tony Bennett Sings A String of Harold Arlen
Big band and strings conducted and arranged by GLENN OSSER
New York, August 15-18, 1960.
Original session produced by Ernie Altschuler


01. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
02. Bewitched (Bothered And Bewildered)
03. Nobody’s Heart Belongs To Me
04. I’m Thru With Love
05. My Funny Valentine
06. The Man That Got Away
07. Where Or When
08. A Sleepin’ Bee
09. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
10. Mam’selle
11. Just Friends
12. Street Of Dreams
13. Skylark*
14. When The Sun Comes Out
15. Over The Rainbow
16. House Of Flowers
17. Come Rain Or Come Shine
18. For Every Man There’s A Woman
19. Let’s Fall In Love
20. Right As The Rain
21. It Was Written In The Stars
22. What Good Does It Do
23. Fun To Be Fooled
24. This Time The Dream’s On Me
25. I’ve Got The World On A String

Total Time: 77:18

* Bonus track: From the Sings for Two session, but not included on the original LP.