Betty Carter

Around Midnight (4569940)

Around Midnight View larger

Around Midnight

Betty Carter

Solar Records


SOL 139115




Around Midnight

More details

CD 12,99 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD


This edition presents two classic albums by the great Betty Carter in their entirety: ‘Round Midnight (Atco 33-152), with accompaniment by a variety of groups conducted and arranged by Oliver Nelson and Claus Ogerman, and Out There with Betty Carter (Peacock PLP90), which showcases Carter backed by an all-star band featuring Gigi Gryce (also conductor and co-arranger), Kenny Dorham, Ray Copeland, Melba Liston, Benny Golson, Sahib Shihab and Wynton Kelly, among others. As a bonus, two extra songs that complete the ‘Round Midnight sessions, two other songs (“Frenesi” and “Rock-a-bye Baby”), which were originally issued on an ABC-Paramount 45-rpm single and appear here on CD for the first time ever, and an earlier version of “Frenesí”.


BETTY CARTER, vocals on all tracks, plus:

[1-13]: ’Round Midnight ( 4 Stars Down Beat Magazine)
On 1, 5, 9 & 12-13:
Conte Candoli (tp), Richie Kamuca (ts), Russ Freeman (p),
Monty Budwig (b), Shelly Manne (d),
Claus Ogerman (arr, cond). New York, August 10, 1962.

On 2-4, 6-8 & 10-11:
Orchestra conducted and arranged by Oliver Nelson.
New York, between November 1962 and January 1963.
Original sessions produced by Nesuhi Ertegun, Jerry Wexler & Arif Mardin.

[14-25]: Out There with Bettye Carter
Collective personnel: Kenny Dorham, Ray Copeland (tp), Melba Liston (tb),
Gigi Gryce (as, cond), Jimmy Powell (as). Benny Golson, Jerome Richardson (ts),
Sahib Shihab (bar), Wynton Kelly (p), Sam Jones, Peck Morrison (b),
Specs Wright (d). All tracks recorded in New York, February 1958

[26-28] Bonus Tracks:
On 26-27: Studio orchestra. New York, November 14, 1961.
Originally issued on ABC-Paramount 10307 (45 rpm).
On 28: Orchestra conducted by Gigi Gryce. New York, April 25, 1956


01. Nothing More To Look Forward To
02. Who What Why Where When
03. Heart And Soul
04. Call Me Darling
05. When I Fall In Love
06. ‘Round Midnight
07. I Wonder
08. Theme From Dr. Kildare [Three Stars Will Shine Tonight]
09. The Good Life
10. Everybody’s Somebody’s Fool
11. Two Cigarettes In The Dark
12. Shine On, Harvest Moon*
13. One Note Samba*
14. You’re Driving Me Crazy
15. I Can’t Help It
16. By The Bend Of The River
17. Babe’s Blues
18. Foul Play
19. You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
20. On The Isle Of May
21. But Beautiful
22. All I’ve Got
23. Make It Last
24. Blue Bird Of Happiness
25. Something Wonderful
26. Rock-A-Bye Baby**
27. Frenesí [1961 Version] **
28. Frenesí [1956 Version]

Total Time: 76:39