Anouar Brahem

The Astounding Eyes of Rita (ECM 2075)

The Astounding Eyes of Rita View larger

The Astounding Eyes of Rita

Anouar Brahem



ECM 121682

ECM 2075



The Astounding Eyes of Rita

More details

CD 13,21 €

Delightful new project, assembled by Tunisian oud master Brahem with producer Manfred Eicher. Combination of bass clarinet with oud suggests a link to Anouar’s “Thimar” trio, but this East/West line-up often feels closer to the more traditionally-inclined sounds of “Barzakh” or “Conte de l’Incroyable Amour”. Klaus Gesing, from Norma Winstone’s Trio, and Björn Meyer, from Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, are both players with an affinity for musical sources beyond jazz, and they interact persuasively inside Brahem’s music. A dance of dark, warm sounds, urged onward by the darbouka and frame drum of Lebanaese percussionist Khaled Yassine. The album is dedicated to the memory of Palestinian poet Mahmoud Darwish.


  • KLAUS GESING, bss clarinet
  • BJÖRN MEYER, bass
  • KHALED YASSINE, darbouka, Bendir


  • 01. The Lover Of Beirut
  • 02. Dance With Waves
  • 03. Stopover At Djibouti
  • 04. The Astounding Eyes Of Rita
  • 05. Al Birwa
  • 06. Galilee Mon Amour
  • 07. Waking State
  • 08. For No Apparent Reason