Colin Vallon

Le Vent (ECM 2347)

Le Vent View larger

Le Vent

Colin Vallon



ECM 140096

ECM 2347



CD 8,26 €


Le Vent, recorded in April 2013 at Oslo’s Rainbow Studio, is the second ECM album from the Colin Vallon Trio. Like the wind celebrated in its title track, the group has a subtle, insinuating power. Emerging from a still and silent place, its music can breathe gently, or steadily build pressure until attaining an eruptive forcefulness. This combining of poetic compression and quiet relentlessness was evident on the ECM debut Rruga three years ago, but with leader Vallon now writing almost all of the repertoire (although opening tune “Juuichi” is by Patrice Moret), and new drummer Julian Sartorius detailing its floating rhythms, the Swiss trio has entered a brave new space where touch and inflection are decisively more important than soloistic gesture. Melodies, unfolding slowly, are shared between Moret’s bass and Vallon’s piano. A fresh group language is being developed here, extended in the group improvisations which close the set.


Colin Vallon: piano
Patrice Moret: double bass
Julian Sartorius: drums

Recorded April 16-18, 2013 / Rainbow Studio, Oslo


01. Juuichi
02. Immobile
03. Le Vent
04. Cendre
05. Fade
06. Goodbye
07. Le Quai
08. Pixels
09. Altalena
10. Rouge
11. Styx
12. Coriolis