Gary Peacock

Now This (ECM 2428)

Now This View larger

Now This

Gary Peacock



ECM 145381

ECM 2428



CD 13,21 €

In the realm of the piano trio the bar is set high, and creative bassist Gary Peacock has helped raise it in the groups of Bill Evans, Paul Bley and Keith Jarrett. Now This is an album with the bassist’s current trio, recorded last summer in Oslo. Powerful new versions of some Peacock classics – such as “Moor”, “Vignette”, “Requiem” and “Gaya” – are interspersed with recent compositions. Marc Copland and Joey Baron each contribute tunes, and the group also tackles Scott La Faro’s “Gloria’s Step”. In this band, roles are very evenly shared, and this is an optimum context in which to appreciate the melodic invention of Peacock’s bass playing. Marc Copland always honours the needs of the compositions and Joey Baron supplies both drive and sensitive detail. “Now This” is issued in time for Gary Peacock’s 80th birthday on May 12th.


  • MARC COPLAND, piano
  • GARY PEACOCK, double bass
  • JOEY BARON, drums

Oslo, Norwway, July 2014


  • 01. Gaia
  • 02. Shadows
  • 03. This
  • 04. And Now
  • 05. Esprit De Muse
  • 06. Moor
  • 07. Noh Blues
  • 08. Christa
  • 09. Vignette
  • 10. Gloria’s Step
  • 11. Requiem