Tony Bennett

The Complete Frank DeVol Sessions (99124)

Sale! The Complete Frank DeVol Sessions View larger

The Complete Frank DeVol Sessions

Tony Bennett

American Jazz Classics


AJC 146171




The Complete Frank DeVol Sessions

More details

CD 8,25 €


This release contains all existing recordings made by the great Tony Bennett with orchestras conducted by Frank DeVol. These consist of the complete LPs "Long Ago and Far Away" (Columbia CL1186), "To My Wonderful One" (Columbia CL1429), and "Alone Together" (Columbia CS 8262), plus the other seven songs recorded during those sessions that were only issued on singles. Among the outstanding musicians in the band are Herbie Mann, Larry Bunker, Bucky Pizzarelli, and Bennett’s long-time accompanist Ralph Sharon.


Orchestra conducted & arranged by FRANK DeVOL

CD 1 [1-12]: Long Ago And Far Away
Hollywood, April 7-9, 1958.

CD 1 [13-24]: To My Wonderful One
New York, October 23 & November 10-11, 1959.

CD 2 [1-12]: Alone Together
New York, February 28-29 & March 1, 1960.

CD 2 [13-19]: Singles from the same sessions. Not included on the original LPs.


CD 1: Total Time: 73:16

01 It Could Happen To You
02 Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
03 Long Ago And Far Away
04 It Amazes Me
05 The Way You Look Tonight
06 Be / Careful, It’s My Heart
07 My Foolish Heart
08 Time After Time
09 Fools Rush In
10 A Cottage For Sale
11 Blue Moon
12 So Far
13 Wonderful One
14 Till
15 September Song
16 Suddenly
17 I’m A Fool To Want You
18 We Mustn’t Say Goodbye
19 Autumn Leaves
20 Laura
21 April In Paris
22 Speak Low
23 Tenderly
24 Last Night When We Were Young

CD 2: Total Time: 60:46

01 Alone Together
02 This Is All I Ask
03 Out Of This World
04 Walk In The Country
05 I’m Always Chasing Rainbows
06 Poor Butterfly
07 After You’ve Gone
08 Gone With The Wind
09 It’s Magic
10 How Long Has This Been Going On?
11 Sophisticated Lady
12 For Heaven’s Sake
13 Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep
14 Young And Warm And Wonderful
15 Climb Ev’ry Mountain
16 Ask Me
17 I’ll Bring You A Rainbow
18 Put On A Happy Face
19 Baby, Talk To Me