Wadada Leo Smith

Procession of the Great Ancestry (NCD-26)

Procession of the Great Ancestry View larger


Procession of the Great Ancestry

Wadada Leo Smith



NES 122980




Procession of the Great Ancestry

More details

CD 12,39 €

Composer/trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith is currently a faculty member at Cal Arts. "Procession", recorded in 1983, includes 4 compositions dedicated to trumpet masters Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Booker Little and Roy Eldridge performed by a quartet including Bobby Naughton - vibes, Joe Fonda - bass and Kahil El'Zabar - percussion.

On 2 vocal tracks the ensemble is joined by Mchaka Uba - bass and blues legend Louis Myers - guitar. The final track is a Martin Luther King tribute and the quartet is joined by tenor saxophonist John Powell.


  • Wadada Leo Smith (trumpet, fluglehorn, kalimba, vocal)
  • Bobby Naughton (vibraharp)
  • Joe Fonda (bass)
  • Kahil El Zabar (drums, balafon, kalimba, percussion)
  • Louis Myers (electric guitar)
  • Mchaka Uba (bass)
  • John Powell (tenor saxophone)

Recorded February 28, 1983 Acme Recording, Chicago.


  • 01. Jah Jah Is the Perfect Love
  • 02. Procession of the Great Ancestry
  • 03. The Flower That Seeds the Earth
  • 04. The Third World, Grainery of Pure Earth
  • 05. Who Killed David Walker?
  • 06. Celestial Sparks in the Sanctuary of Redemption
  • 07. Nuru Light: The Prince of Peace