Mort Garson

The Zodiac: Cosmic Sounds (PPAN EKS74009)

The Zodiac: Cosmic Sounds View larger


The Zodiac: Cosmic Sounds

Mort Garson

Pure Pleasure


LPS 149987




The Zodiac: Cosmic Sounds

More details

Currently unavailable

LP 28,08 €

This album was released on the ELEKTRA label in August 1967 in the U.K. It was heavily played by John Peel on his Perfumed Garden shows, where he used it as a basis for a competition (He had been sent a copy by Clive Selwood, the then head of Elektra’s London office and later to become Peel’s manager).The LP was extremely popular with Perfumed Garden listeners and was mentioned in the lyrics of Geoffrey Prowse’s fan tribute to the program, “The Perfumed Garden Blues, or John Peel’s lament”.

The 12-track concept album featured both music and spoken narration on the theme of signs of the zodiac. Based on an initial idea by Elektra chief Jac Holzman, it was a collaborative effort with music written by Mort Garson, words by Jacques Wilson, and narration by Cyrus Faryar. The early use of the Moog synthesizer was by Paul Beaver. There was no artist called either The Zodiac or Cosmic Sounds, a fact which confused some buyers of the LP. The back sleeve informed listeners that the record "MUST BE PLAYED IN THE DARK".

01. Aries-The Fire-Fighter
02. Taurus-The Voluptuary
03. Gemini-The Cool Eye
04. Cancer-The Moon Child
05. Leo-The Lord of Lights
06. Virgo-The Perpetual Perfectionist

01. Libra-The Flower Child
02. Scorpio-The Passionate Hero
03. Sagittarius-The Versatile Daredevil
04. Capricorn-The Uncapricious Climber
05. Aquarius-The Lover of Life
06. Pisces-The Peace Piper