Johnny Hartman

I Just Dropped by to Say Hello (Gatefold) (JAZZ)

I Just Dropped by to Say Hello (Gatefold) View larger


I Just Dropped by to Say Hello (Gatefold)

Johnny Hartman



LPS 150818



I Just Dropped by to Say Hello (Gatefold)

More details

This product is no longer in stock

LP 28,91 €


4 1/2 stars all music guide

The second Impulse! session for ballad singer Johnny Hartman followed his classic collaboration with John Coltrane. Hartman is heard in peak form throughout these 11 pieces, which include "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning," "Sleepin' Bee," "Stairway to the Stars," and even "Charade." Tenor saxophonist Illinois Jacquet is on five of the songs, guitarists Kenny Burrell and Jim Hall help out on a few tunes, and Hartman is consistently accompanied by pianist Hank Jones, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Elvin Jones. This is one of his finest recordings.


  • Johnny Hartman - vocals
  • Hank Jones - piano
  • Illinois Jacquet - tenor sax
  • Kenny Burrell, Jim Hall - guitar
  • Milt Hinton - bass
  • Elvin Jones - drums

Recorded October 9 and 17, 1963.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
  • A2. Charade
  • A3. Kiss & Run
  • A4. Don't You Know I Care
  • A5. Our Time
  • A6. Sleepin' Bee
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Stairway To The Stars
  • B2. How Sweet It Is To Be In Love
  • B3. If I'm Lucky
  • B4. I Just Dropped By To Say Hello
  • B5. Don't Call It Love