Bjorn Meyer

Provenance - 180 Gram (ECM 2566 LP)

Provenance - 180 Gram View larger

Provenance - 180 Gram

Bjorn Meyer



LPS 150927

ECM 2566 LP



Provenance - 180 Gram

More details

LP 15,69 €

There is a distinguished tradition of albums devoted to solo bass on ECM, but Provenance is the first to showcase the electric bass guitar. Björn Meyer, born in Sweden and long based in Switzerland, has shaped a distinctive voice on his instrument within diverse contexts. He has worked alongside Persian harpist-singer Asita Hamidi, Swedish nyckelharpa player Johan Hedin and Tunisian oud master Anouar Brahem; and for a decade, Meyer was a member of Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, in which his throbbing bass guitar was often a lead instrument. Meyer’s solo work explores the sound of the bass in acoustic space, as he points out in his booklet essay for the new album: “Even though the instrument is technically non-acoustic, the music is deeply influenced by the properties of the space where it is played. The many different ways in which acoustics affect my compositions and improvisations have always been sources of surprise and inspiration. There is definitely a second member in this solo project – the room!” The room for Provenance was the highly responsive Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI in Lugano, the Swiss radio studio’s rich acoustics helping to bring out all the detail in Meyer’s atmospheric solo creations

BJÖRN MEYER, 6-string electric and accoustic bass guitars


01. Aldebaran
02. Provenance
03. Three Thirteen
04. Squizzle
05. Trails Crossing
06. Traces Of A Song


01. Pendulum
02. Banyan Waltz
03. Pulse
04. Dance
05. Garden Of Silence
06. Merry-Go-Round