Benny Goodman

The Original Recordings of the 1940`S (COL-CD-7861)

The Original Recordings of the 1940`S View larger

The Original Recordings of the 1940`S

Benny Goodman



CJC 123621




The Original Recordings of the 1940`S

More details

CD 10,74 €

This collection teams Benny Goodman and his fabulous orchestra with one of the most popular singers of the swing era, Helen Forest. Forest's exceptional ability melds magnificently with Goodman's big sound on twenty great including "Bewitched", "Lazy River" and "Oh! Look At Me Now".


Mike Bryan, Arnold Covarrubias, Charlie Christian (guitar);
uff Estes, Bus Bassey, Skippy Martin, Bob Snyder, Gus Bivona, Pete Mondella, Georgie Auld, Jack Henderson , Jerry Jerome, Nuncio "Toots" Mondello, Les Robinson, Hymie Schertzer (reeds);
Gordon Griffin, Irving Goodman, Alec Fila, Cootie Williams, Johnny Martel, Ziggy Elman, Billy Butterfield, Jimmy Maxwell (trumpet)
Bob Cutshall, Ted Vesely, Lou McGarthy, Red Gingler, Lou McGarity, Vernon Brown, Red Ballard (trombone)
Johnny Guarnieri, Teddy Wilson, Bernie Leighton, Mel Powell (piano)
Walter Looss, Artie Bernstein (bass guitar)
Harry Jaeger, Dave Tough, J.C. Heard, Nick Fatool, Big Sid Catlett (drums).


01. Busy As A Bee (I'm Buzz, Buzz, Buzzin')
02. What's The Matter With Me?
03. The Fable Of The Rose
04. Shake Down The Stars
05. Yours Is My Heart Alone
06. I'm Nobody's Baby
07. The Moon Won't Talk
08. Mister Meadowlark
09. Nobody
10. Taking A Chance On Love
11. Cabin In The Sky
12. Hard To Get
13. It's Always You
14. Bewitched
15. Lazy River
16. Yours
17. Oh! Look At Me Now
18. Amapola (Pretty Little Poppy)
19. When The Sun Comes Out
20. Down, Down, Down (What A Song!)