Ruth Brown

Miss Rhythm (PPAN SD18026)

Miss Rhythm View larger

Miss Rhythm

Ruth Brown

Pure Pleasure


LPS 153058

PPAN SD18026



LP 16,51 €

It was the great Duke Ellington who recommended Ruth Brown to Herb Abramson and his fledgling Atlantic Records in 1949. And it was Ruth Brown who put Atlantic on the map. If anyone deserved the name of Miss Rhythm in the 50s. Ruth Brown's second LP is a minor masterpiece, built around a handful of hit singles and B-sides from the prior year ("Book of Lies," "Just Too Much," "When I Get You Baby," "This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'," "Why Me") and containing a pair of current single sides, "Jack O' Diamonds" and "I Can't Hear a Word You Say." Brown is amazing in her range, from the upbeat, romantic "I Hope We Meet (On the Road Someday)" to the jaunty shouter "Why Me" - her timbre ranges from sweetly romantic to hard and raspy, and listening to the transformations, between the smooth, quick tempo "Just Too Much" to the hard, lusty "Somebody Touched Me," one thinks of a distaff Sam Cooke. Brown's accompaniments may have lacked the Polish of Cooke's sides, and she wasn't really shooting for pop-crossover success (though she saw some). Her singing even overcomes excessively pop-oriented arrangements on "When I Get You Baby." At various times, in her upper register, Brown recalls Clyde McPhatter's falsetto singing, while in her middle and lower registers, as on "I Can't Hear a Word You Say," she comes up with a power that could melt a microphone stand.


RUTH BROWN, main vocals


01. This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'
02. Just Too Much
03. I Hope We Meet (On the Road Some Day)
04. Why Me
05. Somebody Touched Me
06. When I Get You Baby


07. Jack O' Diamonds
08. I Can't Hear A Word You Say
09. One More Time
10. Book Of Lies
11. I Can See Everybody' Baby
12. Show Me