Ella Fitzgerald

Lullabies of Birdland (EJC 55742)

Lullabies of Birdland View larger

Lullabies of Birdland

Ella Fitzgerald

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 153084

EJC 55742



CD 12,39 €


This 2-CD set presents a rare collection of complete sessions recorded by Ella for Decca between 1944 and 1954, some of which were included on the original album "Lullabies of Birdland" (Decca DL-8149). All of the tracks showcase Ella as the main singer backed by various orchestras and instrumental groups conducted by Sy Oliver (who also sings along with Ella on a couple of songs), Gordon Jenkins, Bob Haggart, and Sonny Burke. [Ella’s Decca studio duets with other vocalists or vocal groups, as well as other Decca sessions with orchestras from the same period, which complement this collection, can be found respectively on the companion 2-CD sets "Ella & Her Fellas", EJC55732 and "The First Lady of Song", EJC55736.]

ELLA FITZGERALD, vocals on all tracks

Featuring: Charlie Shavers, Illinois Jacquet, Hank Jones, John Lewis
Billy Kyle, Eddie Heywood and Ray Brown, among others.

Recorded in New York, Los Angeles and Chicago, between 1944 & 1954.


CD 1: TOTAL TIME: 78:42 Min.

01. Lullaby of Birdland
02. Later
03. Once Tii Often
04. Time Alone Will Tell
05. A Kiss Goodnight
06. Benny's Coming Home On Saturday
07. Flying Home
08. That's Rich
09. I'll Always Be In Love With You
10. I'll See You On My Dreams
11. I'm Just A Lucky So and So
12. I Didn't Mean A Word I Said
13. Guilty
14. Sentimental Journey
15. Oh, Lady Be Good
16. Don`t You Think I Ought To Know?
17. You're Breakin' In A New Heart
18. My Baby Likes to Be-Bop
19. No Sense
20. How High the Moon
21. It's Too Soon to Know
22. I Can't Go On (Without You)
23. To Make A Mistake Is Human
24. In My Dreams
25. I Couldn't Stay Away From You

CD 2:

01. Old Mother Hubbard
02. Someone Like You
03. Happy Talk
04. I'm Gonna Wash Than Man Right Out of My Hair
05. Black Coffee
06. Lover's Gold
07. Crying
08. A New Shade of Blues
09. In the Evening
10. Talk Fast, My Haeart, Talk Fast
11. I`m Waitin' For the Junkman
12. Basin Street Blues
13. I Hadn´t Anyone Till You
14. Dream A Little Longer
15. Foolish Tears
16. A Man Wrote A Song
17. Baby, Won´t You Say You Love Me
18. Don'cha Go 'Way Mad
19. Baby Doll
20. What Does It Take
21. Lady Bug
22. Lazy Day
23. I Wished On the Moon
24. Baby
25. I Need
26. Who's Afraid (Not I, Not I, Not I)