William Parker

Voices Fall From The Sky (Box Set) (CENT1015/16/17)

Voices Fall From The Sky (Box Set) View larger

Voices Fall From The Sky (Box Set)

William Parker

Aum Fidelity


AUM 153240




CD 27,26 €


A three-album strong box set – half of it being brand new recordings made in 2017/18 and half being Parker-curated selections of previously released work, some of which has been unavailable for far too long. The focus here is on the voice; on the singers & the songs. All compositions (music & lyrics) by William Parker. Seventeen distinct voices are featured herein, including Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay • Ellen Christi • Timna Comedi • Leena Conquest • Morley Kamen • Amirtha Kidambi • Kyoko Kitamura • Ernie Odoom • Bernardo Palombo • Omar Payano • Jean Carla Rodea • AnnMarie Sandy • Lisa Sokolov • Raina Sokolov-Gonzalez • Mola Sylla • Fay Victor • Andrea Wolper; accompaniment ranges from duo to large ensemble."

CD 1, also entitled VOICES FALL FROM THE SKY Features all-new work predominately recorded and mixed in December 2017 and January 2018, with an opening invocation from the earlier release, Long Hidden. The featured singers here are: Timna Comedi • Morley Shanti Kamen • Amirtha Kidambi • Kyoko Kitamura • Bernardo Palombo • Omar Payano • Jean Carla Rodea • Raina Sokolov-Gonzalez • Fay Victor • Andrea Wolper. Accompanists include: Karen Borca • Angelo Branford • Rob Brown • Gerald Cleaver • Jean Cook • Jason Kao Hwang • Masahiko Kono • William Parker • Dave Sewelson • Heru Shabaka-Ra • Steve Swell • Dario Acosta Teich • Eri Yamamoto

  • 01. Espitiro
  • 02. Airlift
  • 03. Bouquet Fro Borah
  • 04. City of Flowers
  • 05. Despues de la Guerra
  • 06. Small Lobby
  • 07. So Important
  • 08. We Often Danced
  • 09. Voices From the Sky
  • 10. Revolution
  • 11. A Tree Called Poem

CD 2, SONGS, is comprised of duets (the one exception again being the lead track), and features three singers with whom Parker has had decades-long creative relationships with. Vintage recordings with Ellen Christi and Lisa Sokolov from the early 1990s which have been unavailable for far too long, are here re-sequenced / re-contextualized together with more recent work with Leena Conquest, plus a piece each feat. Ernie Odoom and Mola Sylla. Accompanists: Yuko Fujiyama • Cooper-Moore • William Parker • Eri Yamamoto.

  • 01. All I Want
  • 02. Baldwin's interlude
  • 03. For Julius Eastman
  • 04. Aborigine Song
  • 05. Life Song
  • 07. Band in the Sky
  • 08. Sweet Breeze
  • 09. Morning Moon
  • 10. A Thought For Silence
  • 11. Poem For June Jordan
  • 12. Autumn Song
  • 13. Falling Shadows
  • 14. Tour Of the Flying Peace
  • 15. Prayer

CD 3, ESSENCE, focuses on the voice within large ensemble, and features selections from previously released albums together with a new suite / recording entitled The Blinking of the Ear, performed by mezzo-soprano opera singer AnnMarie Sandy. The previously released work is here presented in special edits from longer-form works and features the singers Ernie Odoom, Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay and Leena Conquest. Accompaniment is by four very different versions of the William Parker Orchestra, and his Double Quartet. The one exception here is the brand new suite, which features Eri Yamamoto on piano and Leonid Galaganov on drums, although how they and AnnMarie Sandy fill the silence is practically orchestral.

  • 01. The Essence of Ellington
  • 02. Lights of Lake George
  • 03. For Fannie Lou Hamer
  • 04. Deep Flower
  • 05. The Blinking of the Ear
  • a) Meditation of Freedom
  • b) Without Love Everything Will Fail
  • c) Dark Rememberance
  • d) Heavenly Home Meditation on Peace
  • 06. Natasha's Theme