Kamasi Washington

Heaven and Earth (YT176CD)

Heaven and Earth View larger

Heaven and Earth

Kamasi Washington

Young Turks


GEN 155094




CD 14,04 €


Kamasi Washington's sophomore album Heaven and Earth not only fulfills it's overarching ambition, but illustrates the dialectic between seen and unseen, real and imagined, citizen and culture, self and self, as well as self and other, and does so through the lens of a mature but never jaded revolutionary consciousness. The artist's own words best convey the inspiration behind this monolith of an album "The world that my mind lives in, lives in my mind. This idea inspired me to make this album Heaven and Earth. The reality we experience is a mere creation of our consciousness, but our consciousness creates this reality based on those very same experiences. We are simultaneously the creators of our personal universe and creations of our personal universe. The Earth side of this album represents the world as I see it outwardly, the world that I am a part of. The Heaven side of this album represents the world as I see it inwardly, the world that is a part of me. Who I am and the choices I make lie somewhere in between."



Recorded at Electro-Vox Recording; Henson Recording Studio; and Stagg Street Studio


CD 1: Earth

1) Fists of Fury
2) Can You Hear Him
3) Hub -Tones
4) Connections
5) Tiffakonkae
6) The Invincible Youth
7) Testify
8) One of One

CD 2 : Heaven

1) The Space Travelers
2) Vi Lua Vi Sol
3) Street Fighter Mas
4) Song For The Fallen
5) Journey
6) The Psalmnist
7) Show Us The Way
8) Will You Sing