Blossom Dearie

The Lost Sessions from the Netheralands (1804033)

The Lost Sessions from the Netheralands View larger

The Lost Sessions from the Netheralands

Blossom Dearie



GEN 155216




CD 17,99 €

New York, 28 September 1998: Blossom Dearie was rehearsing for a concert. Renaud Machart and I were the sole witnesses to the infinite care she took for every word and note of all of her songs. After so many years, her voice was intact – a wisp of a voice, slightly tangy – with more control than ever. Among her many assets was the subtle way she had the music carry her syllables, conveying the impression of being a “singer of texts” rather than the great musician she truly was. As an exceptional pianist with a delicate touch and strong sense of swing, her harmonic language was splendid, both well informed and clear. Dearie is a vocalist with the voice of a child and the expressivity and sensuality of an accomplished woman; she moves us profoundly.

Blossom Margrete Dearie was born on 28 April 1924 in New York State, lucky enough to grow up in a home where there was a piano. Her natural ear for music meant that at a tender age she was already picking out Debussy’s L’Après-Midi d’un Faune. When she was twenty, singer Dave Lambert introduced her to the music world of the Big Apple. Taking a leaf out of the book of artists like Erroll Garner, she strove to blend the world of jazz with that of musical comedy. Dearie began making stage appearances in 1946 and continued until 2006. She died on 7 February 2009.


BLOSSOM DEARIE, vocals, keyborads

Recorded in the Netherlands - STEREO  AVRO 1968, 1970, 1971, 1982 STEREO  TROS 1989 - Remastered &  2018 FONDAMENTA


01. Discover Who Am I
02. The Music Played
03. Winchester in Apple Blossom Time
04. Who Knows Why
05. Sammy
06. Bye Bye Countryboy
07. Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head
08. Sweet Georgie Fame
09. Feeling Good Being Me
10. You Have Lived in Autumn
11. Both Sides Now
12. Winchester in Apple Blossom Time
13. Bring All Your Love Along