Jazz at The Lincoln Center Orchestra

Una Noche con Ruben Blades (BE0014)

Una Noche con Ruben Blades View larger

Una Noche con Ruben Blades

Jazz at The Lincoln Center Orchestra

Blue Engine


DRJ 155791




CD 14,87 €


Rubén Blades, The salsa giant and nine-time GRAMMY® Award-winning singer, songwriter, actor, and activist — collaborated with the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis in 2014 for an extraordinary series of performances on the Jazz at Lincoln Center stage. On these very special style-straddling, Americas-spanning nights, the worlds of salsa and swing collided.

Music-directed by Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra bassist Carlos Henriquez (called an “emerging master in the Latin jazz idiom” by DownBeat magazine), Una Noche con Rubén Blades features Blades, backed by the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis, performing Blades’ own beloved compositions, including “Pedro Navaja,” “Patria,” and “El Cantante,” as well as swing-era standards like “Too Close for Comfort” and “Begin the Beguine.”

“I’ve known Rubén Blades since I was two years old—or at least I feel like I have,” Henriquez says. “His albums—and the sound and the warmth they generated–filled my family’s apartment at 146th and Brook Avenue in the Bronx, and his music was one of my earliest influences.”


  • RUBÉN BLADES, vocals, maracas
  • SHERMAN IRBY, alto saxophone and soprano saxophones
  • TED NASH, alto saxophone, flute, piccolo
  • VICTOR GOINES, tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet
  • WALTER BLANDING, tenor saxophone
  • JOE TEMPERLAY, baritone saxophone*
  • PAUL NEDZELA, baritone saxophone
  • RYAN KISOR, trumpet
  • KENNY RAMPTON, trumper
  • MARCUS PRINTU, trumpet
  • WYNTON MARSALIS, trumpet
  • VINCENT GARDNER, trombone
  • CHRIS CRENSHAW, trombone
  • ELLIOT MASON, trombone
  • DAN NIMMER, piano
  • ALI JACKSON, drums
  • Special Guest:
  • EDDIE ROSADO, backing vocals
  • BOBBY ALLENDE,congas, backing vocals
  • MARC QUIÑONES, timbales, backing vocals
  • CARLOS PADRON, bongos, cowbell
  • SENECA BLACK, trumpet

Recorded live on November 15, 2014 at Jazz at Lincoln Center´s Frederick P. Rose Hall


  • 01. Carlos Henriquez Introduction
  • 02. Ban Ban Quere
  • 03. Too Close for Comfort
  • 04. El Cantante
  • 05. I Can’t Give You Anything but Love
  • 06. Apóyate en Mi Alma
  • 07. Pedro Navaja
  • 08. Begin the Beguine
  • 09. Sin Tu Cariño
  • 10. Rubén’s Medley: Ligia Elena / El Número 6 / Juan Pachanga
  • 11. Patria” (Encore)