Jeff Hamilton

Live from San Pedro (CAPRI 74147-2)

Live from San Pedro View larger

Live from San Pedro

Jeff Hamilton



CAP 155945

CAPRI 74147-2



CD 12,38 €


Jeff Hamilton Trio has been together for over 17 years and this is their first live recording for Capri! It was recorded in the intimate setting of Alva's Showroom in San Pedro California before an audience of friends and die-hard fans.Originality is what versatile drummer Jeff Hamilton brings to the groups he performs with and is one of the reasons why he is constantly in demand, whether he is recording or performing with his trio, Oscar Peterson, Ray Brown, and countless others. The Jeff Hamilton Trio’s recording, It’s Hamilton Time (Lake Street Records), received enormous airplay while reaching #5 on the Gavin national jazz radio chart. The trio’s second release, Jeff Hamilton Trio-LIVE! (MONS) was nominated by critics for best jazz recording in Germany in 1997. The trio’s second MONS release is entitled, Hands On. Hamilton House-Live at Steamers (MONS) was the trio’s 2000 release. As well as recording and performing throughout the world, Jeff also teaches, arranges and composes.

The CD is dedicated to Jeff's mom who passed away 16 days after the recording was made. “Sybille’s Day” is the first track from the Jeff Hamilton Trio’s new album “Live from San Pedro.” The album features drummer Jeff Hamilton, pianist Tamir Hendelman, and bassist Christoph Luty and was captured at a single night’s performance at the Alvas Showroom in San Pedro, California.In this album the trio dives deep into an imaginative repertoire that includes bop standards (“In Walked Bud”), a beloved ballad (“I Have Dreamed”), reworked show tunes (“Gary, Indiana”), a classic from the Ahmad Jamal playbook (“Poinciana”) and a host of original tunes from group members and others including John Clayton and Joe LaBarbera. The set demonstrates the indivisible unity that the threesome has achieved, as well as the individual virtuosity of each distinguished trio member.




01. Sybille's Day
02. Poinciana
03. Hammer's Tones
04. I Have Dreamed
05. In Walked Bud
06. Gina's Groove
07. Brush This
08. Bennissimo
09. Gary Indiana
10. Hoosier Friend