I Am Three and Me

Mingus´ Sounds Of Love (CD LR 844)

Mingus´ Sounds Of Love View larger

Mingus´ Sounds Of Love

I Am Three and Me

Leo Records


LEO 156405

CD LR 844



CD 10,74 €

In the wake of hugely successful CD "I AM THREE," The Music of Charles Mingus, the three Germans invited Maggie Nicols to further explore his music. Mingus, the poet. From loving quotes to ironic breaking, from homage to deconstruction, from historic reminiscence to an expression of the current state. With this recording the collective "I am Three & Me" simultaneously moves closer and away from Mingus, resulting in a present-day reflection. "Music is life, magic, spirit, healing, liberation, communication, an international language beyond words" (Maggie Nicols).


  • MAGGIE NICOLS, vocal
  • SILKE EBERHARD, alto sax
  • NIKOLAUS NEUSER, trumpet

Recorded in Berlin, February 2018.


  • 01. Weird Nightmare
  • 02. Eclipse
  • 03.Duke Ellington's Sound Of Love
  • 04. Mingus Cat-alog / Pussy Cat Due
  • 05. Haitian Fight Song
  • 06. Portrait
  • 07. Nostalgia In Times Square
  • 08. The Clown
  • 09. Duke Ellington's Sound Of Love (Reprise)