Alex Hendiksen

The Song Is You W/ Fabian Gisler (ezz-thetics 1003)

The Song Is You W/ Fabian Gisler View larger

The Song Is You W/ Fabian Gisler

Alex Hendiksen



EZZ 156894

ezz-thetics 1003



CD 14,03 €

• digisleeve edition

Both players cite the art form of storytelling as central to their music, although they’re also careful to clarify that no specific earlier duo served as a direct role model. “Getting the story across is a big one for me personally,” notes Hendriksen, “we look for song material that speaks to us and makes us want to tell our stories. And Strayhorn just has so many beautiful stories that I can relate to in many a way.” That professed admiration for Ellington’s esteemed colleague isn’t simple lip service as the duo’s chosen songbook taps the prolific ducal composer four separate times. Thelonious Monk gets a nod twice and the remainder of the studio set fills out with dependable selections from the Great AmericanSongbook by once-popular tunesmiths Victor Young, Harry Warren, Richard Whiting and Michel Legrand.


  • ALEX HENDRIKSEN, tenor sax

Recorded at SRF Studio Zürich Brunnenhof on June 16 & 17, 2018.


  • 01. Blood Count
  • 02. You Must Believe In Spring
  • 03. We See
  • 04. Upper Manhattan
  • 05. Love Letters
  • 06. Chelsea Bridge
  • 07. Lulu’s Back In Town
  • 08. Stella By Starligh
  • 09. Ask Me Now
  • 10. My Little Brown Book
  • 11. My Ideal