Poncho Sanchez

Trane`s Delight (CPI00034)

Trane`s Delight View larger

Trane`s Delight

Poncho Sanchez

Concord Picante


CON 158438




CD 12,39 €


On his first new album in seven years, Grammy Award-winning conguero Poncho Sanchez celebrates the life and music of the iconic saxophonist John Coltrane. Now with 30 years onConcord Picante, Sanchez’s Trane’s Delight is a love letter from one musical pioneer to another, as the Latin Jazz legend pays homage to one of his earliest and most indelible influences. The joyous album arrives just in time for the late tenor titan’s 93rd birthday. The 11-track album features three classic Coltrane compositions and a pair of new compositions written in honor of the sax master, alongside a host of original pieces and classic favorites chosen to represent Sanchez’s wide spectrum of influences. Ultimately, Trane’s Delight offers a tribute not only to the stellar music and influence of the great John Coltrane, but a spotlight for the myriad ways that the tenor giant’s explorations have fueled courageous artists like Poncho Sanchez. The results, as on this passionate new album, would no doubt delight Trane’s searching spirit.


  • PONCHO SANCHEZ, congas, vocals
  • FRANCISCO TORRES, trombone, musical director
  • RON BLAKE, trumpet
  • ROBERT HARDT, alto & tenor sax
  • ANDY LANGHAM, piano
  • RENE CAMACHO, bass
  • JOEY DeLEON, timbales
  • ROSS SCHODEK, bass
  • NORELL THOMSON, guest vocals


  • 01. Soul Bourgeoisie
  • 02. Liberia
  • 03. The Feeling of Jazz
  • 04. Giant Steps
  • 05. Si Te Dicen
  • 06. Sube
  • 07. Blue Train
  • 08. Yam’mote
  • 09. Poncho Sanchez Medley #2
  • 10. Trane’s Delight
  • 11. Todo Terminó