Miles Okazaki

The Sky Below (PI 84)

The Sky Below View larger

The Sky Below

Miles Okazaki

Pi Recordings


PIR 159100

PI 84



CD 10,73 €

The Sky Below is guitarist Miles Okazaki's sequel to his critically-acclaimed Trickster (Pi 2017), which the New York Times labeled "tenacious futurism" and Pitchfork called "obviously complex, the work of virtuosi." The album received critics' picks in both Downbeat and JazzTimes, acclaimed as “an intellectually hefty album that feels weightless" and “a real breakthrough.” The Sky Below continues the story of Trickster, this time following the classical arc of an oceanic voyage, where the character travels across a boundary, enters the unknown, visits magical islands, is caught in a storm, abandoned, and finds a way home. For these songs, Okazaki took each of the compositions from Trickster, reduced them to their basic components, and rewrote new compositions from this genetic material to maintain their symbolic and sonic continuity.


  • MILES OKAZAKI, guitars, electronics
  • MATT MITCHELL, piano, Fender Rhodes, Prophet-6
  • ANTHONY TIDD, electric bass
  • SEAN RICKMAN, drums


  • 01. Rise and Shine
  • 02. Dog Star
  • 03. Anthemoessa
  • 04. Seven Sisters
  • 05. Monstropolous
  • 06. The Castaway
  • 07. The Lighthouse
  • 08. To Dream Again