Christian McBride

The Movement Revisited (MAC 1082)

The Movement Revisited View larger

The Movement Revisited

Christian McBride

Mack Avenue


MAC 159456

MAC 1082



CD 12,39 €


Marshaling his ever-sharpening skills as a composer, arranger, conductor, musician and lyricist, Christian McBride has created a historically and culturally illuminating five-part suite for an 18-piece big band, chorus and narrators that places the motivating forces as well as the goals of the Civil Rights Movement within a powerfully relevant artistic context. It is a one-from-the-heart project McBride was, apparently, destined to undertake.

This recording of The Movement Revisited marks the addition of a fifth movement, “Apotheosis,” which acknowledges the election of Barack Obama as the first African American President of the United States.


  • CHRISTIAN McBRIDE, bass, composer, arranger
  • STEVE WILSON, alto sax, flute
  • TODD BASHORE, alto sax
  • RON BLAKE, tenor & soprano sax
  • LOREN SCHOENBERG, tenor sax
  • CARL MARAGHI, baritone sax
  • MICHAEL DEASE, trombone
  • STEVE DAVIS, trombone
  • JAMES BURTON, trombone
  • DOUG PURVIANCE, bass trombone
  • LEW SOLOFF, trumpet
  • RON TOOLEY, trumpet
  • FRANK GREENE, trumpet
  • FREDDIE HENDRIX, trumpet
  • DARRYL SHAW, trumpet
  • WARREN WOLF, vibes
  • TERREON GULLY, drums


  • SONIA SANCHEZ, narrates the words of Rosa Parks
  • VONDIE CURTIS-HALL, narrates the words of Malcolm X
  • DION GRAHAM, narrates the words of Muhammad Ali
  • WENDELL PIERCE, narrates the words of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York, September 8-11, 2013


  • 01. Overture/The Movement Revisited
  • 02. Sister Rosa – Prologue
  • 03. Sister Rosa
  • 04. Rosa Introduces Malcolm
  • 05. Brother Malcolm – Prologue
  • 06. Brother Malcolm
  • 07. Malcolm Introduces Ali
  • 08. Ali Speaks
  • 09. Rumble In The Jungle
  • 10. Rosa Introduces MLK
  • 11. Soldiers (I Have a Dream)
  • 12. A View From The Mountaintop
  • 13. Apotheosis: November 4th, 2008