Mike Westbrook

Love & Understanding: Citadel/Room 315 Sweden 74 (MOD003CD)

New Love & Understanding: Citadel/Room 315 Sweden 74 View larger

Love & Understanding: Citadel/Room 315 Sweden 74

Mike Westbrook

My Only Desire


DRJ 159754




CD 12,39 €

Citadel/Room 315 is an hour-long suite of eleven tracks, beautifully composed and arranged by Mike Westbrook that is rightly considered to be one of the high-points of Brit-jazz from that era. Mike was commissioned by Sveriges (Swedish) Radio to write the work with Surman as lead soloist. He then travelled to Sweden to perform and conduct it for the first time, live in concert. This recording has never been released until now and presents a wildly different recording to the later LP, the rawness and freedom of the playing contrasting strongly with the more polished studio album.


  • MIKE WESTBROOK, conductor, electric piano
  • JOHN SURMAN, baritone and soprano saxes, bass clarinet
  • Arne Domnérus (as, cl), Claes Rosendahl (ts, fl), Lennart Åberg (ts, ss, fl), Erik Nilsson (bs, b-cl, fl), Americo Bellotto (tp), Bertil Lövgren Tp, flhn) , Jan Allan (tp), Håkan Nyquist (tp, flhn,frhn), Lars Olofsson (tb), Sven Larsson (b-tb), Rune Gustafsson (g), Bengt Hallberg (p), Georg Riedel (b), Stefan Brolund (b-g), Egil Johansen (d), Jan Bandel (vib, perc)

Recorded live in concert March 28th 1974 at Folkets Hus Södertälje, Sweden


  • 01. Overture
  • 02. Construction
  • 03. Pistache
  • 04. View from the Drawbridge
  • 05. Love and Understanding
  • 06. Tender Love
  • 07. Bebop de Rigueur
  • 08. Pastorale
  • 09. Sleepwalker Awaking in Sunlight
  • 10. Outgoing Song
  • 11. Finale