Shabaka & the Ancestors

We Are Sent Here By History (602508645600)

We Are Sent Here By History View larger

We Are Sent Here By History

Shabaka & the Ancestors



GEN 159890




CD 14,03 €


Shabaka Hutchings is invigorating and leading the resurgence of progressive jazz in London through his three distinct projects: Sons of Kemet, The Comet is Coming and Shabaka & the Ancestors. The Mercury Prize nominated saxophonist has a colorful upbringing, with many of his childhood years spent growing up in Barbados. Upon his return to London, he honed his chops through training, study, and performance with the jazz educational program Tomorrow’s Warriors.

We Are Sent Here By History is a spiritual awakening and an homage to African and Caribbean traditions. Recorded exclusively in Johannesburg and Cape Town, with a collective of South African musicians, Shabaka says this of the album, “We Are Sent Here by History is a meditation on the fact of our coming extinction as a species. It is a reflection from the ruins, from the burning. A questioning of the steps to be taken in preparation for our transition individually and societally if the end is to be seen as anything but a tragic defeat.”


  • 1. They Who Must Die
  • 2. You've Been Called
  • 3. Go My Heart, Go To Heaven
  • 4. Behold, The Deceiver
  • 5. Run, The Darkness Will Pass
  • 6. The Coming Of The Strange Ones
  • 7. Beast Too Spoke Of Suffering
  • 8. We Will Work (On Redefining Manhood)
  • 9. 'Til The Freedom Comes Home
  • 10. Finally, The Man Cried
  • 11. Teach Me How To Be Vulnerable

Recorded by Murray Anderson at Milestone Studios, Cape Town, South Africa and Peter Auret at Sumosound Recording Studio, Johannesburg, South Africa / Mixed at The Crush E14, London, UK / Mastered at Electric Mastering, London, UK.