Ryo Fukui

Mellow Dream (WRJ002)

Mellow Dream View larger


Mellow Dream

Ryo Fukui

We Release Jazz


LPS 159920




This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €

FROM THE ORIGINAL REELS AND mastered at half speed

As its title suggests, Mellow Dream ventures into slightly mellower, more soulful, and sometimes more contemplative territories (the Bill Evans-reminiscent "Mellow Dream" and "My Foolish Heart") while still packing the commanding punch Fukui’s work is loved for, as heard on the amazingly bombastic "Baron Potato Blues" or the gigantic McCoy Tyner/John Coltrane-influenced "Horizon" which sees each member of the trio (Satoshi Denpo is on bass and Yoshinori Fukui is on drums) demonstrating their virtuosity for 9 exhilarating minutes. With his sophomore album, Ryo Fukui swings from melancholy to vibrant joy with ease, reminding us that jazz is best served with a pinch of blues, and displays an immensely rare combination of pure talent, unique personal approach and focused discipline. The man undeniably deserves a spot in the pantheon of all-time great jazz pianists.


  • Ryo Fukui - piano
  • Satoshi Denpo - bass
  • Yoshinori Fukui - drums

Sapporo, August 17 & 18, 1977


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Mellow Dream
  • 02. My Foolish Heart
  • 03. Baron Potato Blues
  • SIDE B
  • 04. What's New
  • 05. Horizon
  • 06. My Funny Valentine