Hear, Sense and Feel (Real Gone Reissue) (RGM-1087)

Hear, Sense and Feel View larger


Hear, Sense and Feel (Real Gone Reissue)

Black Jazz


GEN 161302




This product is no longer in stock

CD 14,04 €

The Awakening sees the light of day again, escaping oblivion thanks to the reissuing of the Chicago-based jazz sextet's 1972 album titled Hear, Sense & Feel. While keeping attuned to John Coltrane's spirituality, the group follows a no-nonsense, straightforward jazz course with sidesteps into the freer jazz zones -- quite natural for band pianist Ken Chaney and saxophonist/flautist Ari Brown, given their involvement with the Afro-centric AACM (Association for the Advancement of Creative Music).


  • Richard (Ari) Brown, tenor sax
  • Steve Galloway, trombone
  • Frank Gordon, flugelhorn, trumpet
  • Ken Chaney, piano
  • Reggie Willis, bass
  • Richard Evans, electric bass
  • Arlington Davis, Jr., drums


  • 01. Awakening - Prologue Spring Thing
  • 02. When Will It Ever End
  • 03. Convulsions
  • 04. Kera's Dance
  • 05. Jupiter
  • 06. Brand New Feeling
  • 07. Awakening - Epilogue