Matt Wilson

Hug! W/ Kirk Knuffke & Chris Lightcap (PM 2196)

Hug! W/ Kirk Knuffke & Chris Lightcap View larger

Hug! W/ Kirk Knuffke & Chris Lightcap

Matt Wilson



PMT 161344

PM 2196



CD 12,39 €


American drummer/composer Matt Wilson reconvenes his monumental quartet - pairing up with bassist Chris Lightcap in the rhythm section and having reedsman Jeff Lederer and cornetist Kirk Knuffke sharing the frontline - to perform an 11-track session crammed with improvisational virtuosity and quicksilver interplay. The drummer’s phenomenal work, known for its elasticity and versatility, can encompass everything from New Orleans marches to muscular swinging numbers to uncompromising avant-garde tradition. Consisting of originals and covers alike, Hug! is no exception to the rule, having been programmed with a wide aesthetic variety.


Pennsylvania, October 13, 2019


  • 01. The One Before This
  • 02. Jabulani
  • 03. In The Moment
  • 04. Every Day with You
  • 05. Space Force March/Interplanetary Music
  • 06. Joie De Vivre
  • 07. Sunny and Share
  • 08. Hug! King Of The Road
  • 09. Man Bun
  • 10. Hambe Kahle