Weldon Irvine

Spirit Man (L-NSD811)

Spirit Man View larger

Spirit Man

Weldon Irvine

Nature Sounds


LPS 161361




This product is no longer in stock

LP 16,52 €

One such pioneer was keyboardist Weldon Irvine, a Jazz-Funk luminary who released some of the most revered recordings of the era. Irvine’s 1975 album Spirit Man is a true masterpiece, full of infectious grooves and otherworldly electronic elements. Entirely composed, arranged, conducted, and produced by Irvine himself, the album remains a potent artistic statement, both deeply spiritual and intensely funky. Crate diggers may recognize the opening track “We Gettin’ Down”, which was sampled by A Tribe Called Quest for their classic single “Award Tour”.


  • Weldon Irvine - conductor, piano, clavinet, synthesizer
  • Cleveland Freeman - electric bass
  • Wesley 'Gator' Watson- drums
  • Henry Grate, Jr. - guitar
  • Napoleon Revels - percussion
  • Bud Johnson, Jr. - congas, bongo
  • Everett 'Blood' Hollins - trumpet
  • Charles Sullivan - trumpet
  • Sonny Fortune - alto sax


  • SIDE A
  • A1. We Gettin' Down
  • A2. Softly
  • A3. Pogo Stick
  • A4. Blast Off
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Jungle Juice
  • B2. Yasmin
  • B3. The Power And The Glory
  • B4. Softly