Sun Ra

Nidhamu (Live In Egypt Vol. II) (STRUT228LP)

Nidhamu View larger

Nidhamu (Live In Egypt Vol. II)

Sun Ra



LPS 162023




LP 16,51 €

Nidhamu is one of a number of albums that cosmic jazz wanderer Sun Ra recorded during an Egyptian tour in 1971. Side one features songs from a concert in Cairo with his Astro-Intergalactic-Infinity Arkestra whilst side two fronts a solo keyboard performance which was recorded a week earlier.

The impact and significance of these few weeks upon Sun Ra can be measured by the growth and development of his output over the next few years; the immediate post-Egypt period included new studio and live recordings on the Saturn, Blue Thumb, Atlantic and Impulse labels and the Space Is The Place movie. Ra also edited the three LPs of the Live In Egypt series which were subsequently released on his Saturn record label and its affiliated twin, Thoth Intergalactic: Dark Myth Equation Visitation, Nidhamu and Horizon.


  • John Gilmore - tenor sax, percussion
  • Danny Davis - alto sax, flute
  • Marshall Allen - alto sax, flute, oboe
  • Kwamw Hadi - trumpet, conga drums
  • Pat Patrick - baritone sax
  • Elo Omoe - bass clarinet
  • Tommy Hunter - percussion
  • Danny Thompson - baritone sax, flute
  • June Tyson - vocals
  • Larry Narthington - alto sax, coga drums
  • Lex Humphries - percussion
  • Hakim Rahim - alto sax, flute
  • Sun Ra - organ, moog, piano

Recorded at the Ballo Theater, Cairo and Oakland, California 1971


  • SIDE A
  • Space Loneliness nº2
  • Discipline Nº. 11
  • SIDE B
  • Discipline Nº 15
  • Nidhamu