Matthew Halsall

Oneness (Special 3LP Edition) (GONDLP033)

Oneness (Special 3LP Edition) View larger

Oneness (Special 3LP Edition)

Matthew Halsall

Gondwana Records


LPS 162115




LP 30,57 €


Never-issued work from trumpeter Matthew Halsall – most of it recorded during the year of 2008, a time when Halsall was first really starting to make a name for himself – and also working with the great tenorist Nat Birchall! Birchall is on most of these tracks, and together the pair move into territory that's along the more meditative side of the spectrum than their first few albums – spiritual jazz, but of a slow-building style that often frequently features work on harp from either Stan Ambrose or Rachael Gladwin – in a mode that's clearly inspired by the Impulse Records material of Alice Coltrane, but which also has a very personal vibe – given the strong solo work of both Halsall and Birchall. The set also features two Indian-styled tunes, recorded with sitar and tabla – and titles include "Life", "Oneness", "Distant Land", "Stories From India", "Loving Kindness",


  • Matthew Halsall - trumpet
  • Nat Birchal - sax
  • Gavin Barras - bass
  • Gaz Hughes - drums
  • Rachael Gladwin, Stan Ambrose - harp
  • Adam Fairhall - piano
  • Mohamed Assani - Sitar
  • Chris Davies - tabla

Recorded January - September 2008


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Life
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Oneness
  • B2. Twoness
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Stan's Harp
  • C2. Loving Kindness
  • SIDE D
  • D1.Distant Land
  • D2.Threeness
  • SIDE E
  • E1. Stories From India
  • SIDE F
  • F1. The Traveller