Mike Westbrook

Celebration (ACL0054 LP)

Celebration View larger


Mike Westbrook

Audio Clarity


LPS 162155

ACL0054 LP



LP 14,03 €

Originally released on Deram in 1967, 'Celebration' is one of the most important albums of the 1960s British progressive and avant-garde Jazz scene. The Mike Westbrook Concert Band included some of the UKs most important jazz figures of the time, including John Surman, Mike Osborne, and Harry Miller. These recordings, culled from two days of studio work, are equal parts swinging and experimental, boundary pushing and accessible. Original copies on Deram now fetch a hefty sum, thankfully the folks at Klimt have made it available once again on LP for the first time in over 40 years.


  • Malcolm Griffiths - trombone
  • Dave Chambers - tenor sax
  • Mike Osborne - alto sax
  • Bernie Living - alto sax, flute
  • John Surman - baritone & soprano sax, bass clarinet
  • Harry Miller - bass
  • Alan Jackson - drums
  • Tom Bennelick - french horn
  • Mike Westbrook - piano


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Pastoral
  • A2. Awakening
  • A3. Parade
  • A4. Echoes And Heroics
  • SIDE B
  • B1. A Greeting
  • B2. Image
  • B3. Dirge
  • B4. Portrait