Sacbé (Limited Edition) (FVR169LP)

Sacbé (Limited Edition) View larger


Sacbé (Limited Edition)




LPS 162504




LP 24,78 €

Unique and beautifully recorded, with a breezy feel brought by the synthesizers, Sacbé could be likened to what Azymuth was doing at the same time in Brazil.

Sacbé was composed of Eugenio Toussaint (keyboards), Enrique Toussaint (electric bass) & Fernando Toussaint (drums), three brothers hailing from the huge Mexico city, and their friend and sax player Alejandro Campos. Growing up in a family of musicians, they quickly became familiar with jazz music. However they were mostly self-taught, most of them choosing at first to work and study outside the music industry, but somehow, Eugenio had the opportunity to start studies at the Berklee Music University. Before leaving, he deeply wanted to play jazz with his brothers. That’s how Sacbé was created on a hot day of October 1976

The band then built step by step a challenging repertoire including Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Weather Report, Milton Nascimento, Focus, Passport, and many more… Gradually, Eugenio started to compose more tracks, and through a cooperative work of arrangement, Sacbé ended up playing only their own compositions.


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Introduction
  • 02. Caribe
  • 03. Andromeda
  • 04. Ah-Tok
  • SIDE B
  • 01. Sacre
  • 02. Page
  • 03. Las Pulgas Freeway
  • (dedicate to Chick Corea)