Andrew Cyrille

The News (ECM 2681)

The News View larger

The News

Andrew Cyrille



ECM 162563

ECM 2681



CD 14,03 €

The new album from the quartet led by one of jazz’s innovators, drummer Andrew Cyrille, carries the story forward from the 2016 release The Declaration of Musical Independence, a recording which Down Beat hailed as “an unabashed exploration into time, pulse space and atmosphere…ambitious yet simple, rich yet stripped-down, challenging yet infinitely satisfying.” Bill Frisell and Ben Street remain from the Declaration line-up with David Virelles taking the piano role. Each of the players has space for improvisational expression – and Frisell and Virelles also contribute material - but it is Cyrille’s communicative sensibility and what the New York Times called his “watchful, flowing pulse” that guides the band.


  • Andrew Cyrille - drums
  • Bill Frisell - guitar
  • David Virelles - piano, syntzesizer
  • Ben Street - double bas


  • 01. Mountain
  • 02. Leaving East of Java
  • 03. Go Happy Lucky
  • 04. The News
  • 05. Incienso
  • 06. Baby
  • 07. Dance of the Nuances
  • 08. With You in Mind