Hastings St. Jazz Experience (MR/1976)

Hastings St. Jazz Experience View larger


Hastings St. Jazz Experience

Midnite Records


LPS 162800




This product is no longer in stock

LP 14,03 €

This extemely rare Detroit Jazz Composers Ltd's album was originally released locally in Detroit in 1976, and has been digitally remastered. The deep underground jazz scene that existed in Detroit in the 1970s has proved to be a rich mine - full of hidden gems, lost classic recordings, small-cottage run collectively-run record labels, and spiritually aware and conscious music and artistry.

The Detroit Jazz Composers Ltd. is a one-off collective coming together of many of Detroit's superb jazz musicians together with one of Motown's finest soul singers, Kim Weston, alongside a full orchestra and choir - and is one of the most spiritually uplifting set of recordings you will ever hear.


  • Louis Barnett, Samuel Spraggins, Theodore Buckner - alto sax
  • Earnest Rodgers - baritone sax
  • Duke Billingslea - bass
  • Mitchell Atkins, Sherrell Rowland, Sundiata O. Mausi - congas
  • Ed Nelson - drums
  • Leonard McDonald, Will Davis - electric piano
  • Herbie Williams - flugelhorn
  • Earnest Rodgers, Ronald Fain, Samuel Spraggins - flute
  • Earl Thomas, Vaughn Klugh - guitar
  • Sylvia Turner - harp
  • Ed Nelson , Edgar Spand, Jerome Combs, Margo Harris, Theodore Harris Jr. - percussion
  • Miller Brisker, Sylvia Turner, Theodore Harris Jr. - piano
  • Theodore Harris Jr. - piccolo flute
  • Theodore Harris Jr. - soprano sax
  • Charles Brown, Charles Gabriel, Louis Barnett, Miller Brisker, Walter Strickland - tenor sax
  • Ed Gooch, Jimmy Wilkins, Phil Ranelin - trombone
  • Charles Hooks, Eddie Jones, Herbie Williams, John Wilson - trumpet
  • Nasir Hafiz - vibes
  • Kim Weston -vocals
  • Ava Rose
  • Blaine Nichols
  • Ed Nelson
  • Guyanne Collins
  • Jerome Combs
  • Mikyo Adaku
  • Miller Brisker
  • Olaju Kali
  • Robert McCarther
  • Sandra McCarther
  • Sonya Gray
  • Sundiata O. Mausi

Recorded January 2 / April 1, 1976 at Super Disc Sound Studio, Detroit, Michigan.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Mark 1
  • A2. Ja-Mil
  • A3. Song For "M"
  • A4. A Little Love For You (Love Sounds)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Yes Lord
  • B2. Arjuna
  • B3. Nobody Had To Tell Me
  • B4. Now You're Gone