Doug Hammond

Reflections in the Sea of Nurnen (TRCD 4009)

Reflections in the Sea of Nurnen View larger


Reflections in the Sea of Nurnen

Doug Hammond


TRCD 4009

LPS 162811

TRCD 4009



LP 16,51 €

An incredible session from the legendary Tribe Records scene -- an equal effort from leader Doug Hammond and keyboardist David Durrah, who contributes some ground breaking Fender Rhodes and moog work to the set! Hammond handles drums plus a bit of vocals and synthesizer on the session -- working alongside Durrah in a groove that mixes electric and acoustic instrumentation into a totally righteous sound with lots of heavy Afro Jazz leanings. A number of tracks feature great vocals from Hammond -- righteous, and with a beautifully soulful message-oriented approach -- and a few other tracks, such as the classic "Space I" and "Space II", feature a sparer all-electric sound. The whole thing's wonderful -- skittishly rhythmic, warmly flowing, and righteously beautiful.


  • Otis Harris - alto sax
  • Charles Burnham - violin/improvasations
  • Trevis Mickeel - violin
  • David Durra - piano, fender rhodes, moog & arp synthesizer
  • Charles Metcalf - bass, electric bass
  • Doug Hammond - vocals, drums, melodica, arp synthesizer
  • Fredrick Boon - percussion
  • Thomas (Turk) Trayler - percussion


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Fidalgo Detour
  • 02. Space II
  • 03. Wake Up Brothers
  • 04. Reflections
  • SIDE B
  • 01. For Real
  • 02. Space I
  • 03. Sea Of Nurnen
  • 04. Moves