Oneness of Juju

Chapter Two: Nia (659457517557)

Chapter Two: Nia View larger

Chapter Two: Nia

Oneness of Juju

Now Again


LPS 162833




This product is no longer in stock

LP 22,30 €


Magical, mystical, Afrocentric, progressive – words that could be used to describe any number of musical compositions by Sun Ra or his cosmic brothers and sisters, from John to Alice Coltrane, early ‘70s projects on record labels like Detroit’s Tribe or Houston’s Lightin’ or the interests of one Washington, DC native named Jimmy Gray that centered under one, perfect moniker: Black Fire. Gray spent nearly three decades pushing boundaries as a Black American promoter, distributor and, finally, record label owner. Together with Oneness of Juju’s leader James “Plunky Nkabinde “ Branch, Gray oversaw sixteen releases on Black Fire Records between 1975 and 1996.

With this set, Oneness Of Juju and Black Fire’s story burns forth into its fifth decade, its message not tempered, its sound pure. It’s cycle, once again, complete.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Introduction
  • A2. Contradiction (For Thulani)
  • A3. Black Experience
  • A4. Nia (Poem: Complete The Circle)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. The End Of The Butterfly King (Poem: Things Comin' Along)
  • B2. Black Unity