Kelee Patterson

Maiden Voyage (BJ/12)

Maiden Voyage View larger

Maiden Voyage

Kelee Patterson

Black Jazz


LPS 122484




LP 16,51 €

Maiden Voyage is an outlier in the Black Jazz catalog, in that it's a vocal record featuring the former Black Miss Indiana doing spiritual jazz that is so mellow, you practically recline as you listen to it. It's a Sade album from before Sade was Sade, and we picked it out of the Black Jazz catalog because it's one you're maybe less likely to try if you look at a list of titles in the label's discography. Everyone who gets this one will thank us later.


  • George Harper - flute
  • Ernest Van Trease - piano
  • John W. Heard - bass
  • Henry Davos - electric bass
  • Everett Truner . trumpet
  • Billy Osborne - triangle
  • John Lasalle - tambourine
  • Sajih - congas, triangle


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Magic Wand of Love
  • 02. Look at the Child
  • 03. Soul Daddy (Lady)
  • 04. Maiden Voyage
  • SIDE B
  • 01. Don't Misunderstand
  • 02. See You Later
  • 03. You
  • 04. Be All Your Own